Home > Social Media, Twitter > #themeet140: When Twitter goes social!

#themeet140: When Twitter goes social!

Well, the empty beer and wine bottles have finally been cleared away on our wee Glasgow social media gathering. Actually, when I say wee, I really mean huge as turned out we had about 120 people come together for our second Glasgow tweetup.

For those Scottish social media -folk who are still living on Bebo (or actually getting on with some proper work) themeet140 Glasgow is an informal gathering of folk with an interest in social media – mostly Twitter actually, hence the 140 ‘tweet-up’.

Following the first Glasgow tweetup back in May where we had about 25 folks along to the Lansdowne Bar, we were blown away by the turnout. Just like last time, it was a really mixed crowd – which was exactly what @markofrespect and I were hoping for.

It was funny to see the various little huddles all blethering away. Think my favourite was a Designer, PA, Journalist, Student and Osteopath all debating the merits of Foursquare – that made me smile!

I’m sure, like me, you’ve all been to numerous networking events where the business cards are flying about faster than seagulls at a Millport chippie. But this was an altogether different affair. If I had a pound for every time someone came up to me last night saying they’d just had a great conversation with someone they’d only ever spoken to on Twitter, I could’ve made a good dent in my bar bill – and I was driving!

I made my best attempt at getting round and speaking to as many people as I could, but invariably with the size of the turnout, that was always going to be a challenge. Sorry to those of you I missed, but I’m sure whoever you were chatting to was far more interesting than me, so it really is my loss, not yours!

Personally had so many great conversations last night – most of them far too brief from my perspective. Notable blethers included (but were far from exclusive to):

@dunningdesign, @skelptarse, @nmpMartin, @nmpMichelle and @blessedsister on the challenge of dealing with Cougars

@barrydewar on the ideal form for swimming breastroke in open water (whilst wearing arm bands?)

@madfootiebabe on how to convince people Twitter isn’t all about the ‘what I’ve had for my lunch’ tweets (btw, where was that dance you promised me?!)

@K1mca on juggling work and the difficulty in picking a Twitter handle (actually the second time I met Kim this week, I am a lucky man!)

@thirdsectorlab, @ange77h, @oxfamscotland, and @markofrespect’s wife on punching above your weight

@lylicswizzle on a whole host of great topics (she’s such a cool chick!)

@ladymiller and @mike_mcgrail on bad avatars and inappropriate beltching

@kevashcroft and @tartancat on plum jam and six inch heels

@craigmcgill, @glasgowdotcom, @polnoon and @alisyme on why we should all have been investing domain names 10 years ago (xxx.com = $7m!!!)

Honourable mentions also go out to:

The Edinburgh crew, who came on #colinsbus – the very cool @colingilchrist, @barrydewar, @danfrydman, @jon_melville (sorry I missed you for most of last night!) and @mike_mcgrail – thanks for making the effort to come through guys!

@ali_mcgill – who came down all the way from Aberdeen – for what turned out to be an all day drinking session, lucky bast…! 😉

Emma and all the team at @lansdownespy for looking after us all

Our friendly photographer for the evening, @photomclean, is whose pictures from the evening can be found here. (Spot the man with the glowing antlers!)

And saving the best till last, the very talented and equally adorable @macfack – who turned up with a delicious box of cakes, which my kids demolished for their breakfast (more on that here)! That was too kind, but much appreciated!

Too many other names and cool folk to mention, but you know who you are!

For those of you who couldn’t make it, we’ll definitely be doing these again at some stage in the future. (Keep your eyes peeled for a #themeet140 hashtag that will inevitably be doing the rounds!)

I know I also speak for my partner in crime, Ernie, when I say how appreciative we are that everyone gave over a weekday evening to come out and make the evening what it was.

Catch you all on Twitterville.

A.

UPDATE 23/08/10 – Here are links to the other blogs posts that came on the back of the night (I’ll add others as they turn up):

@kirsty_joanSnook at #themeet140

@blessedsister140 Strangers … !

@dunningdesign#themeet140 Inspires

@alisymeWe agree too much!

  1. 21 August, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    Hi Allan – great blog, it sums up the evening very well, good time had by all I think! It wasn’t even spoiled by Julian and I missing our last train home and having to walk from Rutherglen to Cambuslang in the rain – I was okay I had my stetson to keep me dry:)

    Huge thanks to you and Mark for organising the event and it was fantastic to meet so many new people IRL.

    Cheers

    Claire @skelptarse

    Looking forward to the next one already:)

    • 23 August, 2010 at 10:38 am

      Hey Claire, it was a great night, wasn’t it! Good to see you rocking your hat. Very cool. Catch you soon!

  2. Lucy
    21 August, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    Hello 🙂 I’m @littlemunchkin and live in the west end of Glasgow. I hope one day to be well enough to come to one of these meet-ups! I need to now follow u all on Twitter 🙂 xxx

    • 23 August, 2010 at 10:45 am

      Hi Lucy, shame you couldn’t make it, but there’ll be another one soon, I’m sure!

  3. 23 August, 2010 at 11:44 am

    Nice on Allan. Great night. I’ll be blogging about it soon 🙂 x

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

